In 1944, during the Second World War, the historical school in Koryschades hosted the meetings of the National Council. Today, it houses the National Resistance Museum. The picturesque village is located 6 km west of Karpenisi, at an altitude of 960 m. and it belongs to the municipality of Karpenisi. Its name, according to one version, comes from the fact that north of the village, at an area called “Kaminia”, in ancient times there used to be mines of copper, gold or iron. The metal was used for the construction of helmets (in ancient Greek they were called korys- Korythos) and so came the name Koryschades. In 1100 BC in the region there was a pre-Christian settlement, located 800 m east of the present village. There was also another settlement in the same village during the 4th and 5th century which belonged to the Aetolian League. During the Turkish occupation, the settlement of the village was in its present position, but there is evidence that it existed long before 1500.
On the 21st of June 1821 the Turks burned the village and the monastery of Kumasia, located in the region of Korischades. The great school that hosted the meetings of the National Council (14-27 May 1944) was built in 1938. During the time of the German and Italian occupation the village hosted the General Headquarters of ELAS (Greek Liberation Army), weapons workshops, a hospital, the printing of the 13th Division of ELAS, the logistical warehouses of the Rebel, training fields etc. Today the village- with a population of approximately 20 people- has old houses renovated into guest houses.
Contact Address: Korischades, Evritania PC 36100
Museum Telephone: 2237024996